卡茨對犬 : 一個常識指南培訓和生活用狗

這是問題的準狗主應該先問, 也許是最重要的人的生命與狗:

為什麼?

我們的生活與狗最關鍵的決定通常由我們帶一個回家前. 收購美國的狗是令人不安
簡單. 你可以在網上搜羅, 找到一個飼養員, 或乘小狗一些孩子正在提供超市外的一個 (我不會建議它). 你
可能會遇到一隻流浪外出散步時,或開車. 有些人尋求犬堅硬的現實原因: 安全, 狩獵, 治療, 搜索和救援. 但我們大多數人, 說,心理學家和行為學家, 有更複雜的情感和心理動機.

為什麼我要一隻狗?

更麻煩的人類已經連接彼此, 他們越把狗 (和其他寵物) 填補了一些空白. 我們似乎需要愛和方式是簡單被愛, 純, 可靠.

當代美國是, 多方, 一個支離破碎, 超脫社會. 我們的大家庭都搬走了; 我們常常不知道我們的鄰居; 我們很多洞在夜間, 盯著一種​​屏幕或其他. 離婚是家常便飯. 工作變得不穩定, 不確定的許多, 往往不愉快. 很多人似乎更容易生活和與狗互動不是彼此, 所以人類和狗之間的紐帶穩步增長強勁.

然而,這種發展在這兩個物種之間的關係是片面. 許多狗被人類很好地服務’ 深化附件, 但狗不能做出類似的選擇. 這是人類的需求已經催生了巨大的犬齒戀情.

人類已經決定帶狗到他們生活的中心. 對於所有關於動物權利的大驚小怪, 狗有沒有. 他們沒有得到使消費者的決策. 他們依賴於我們的一切,他們需要生存. 他們不能頂嘴; 他們對自己的環境或期貨沒有發言權.

雖然狗幫助,並曾與人類數千年之久, 它只是在最近數十年來,他們已經到了被視為東西比其他 (也許超過) 動物. 寵物飼養是在富人流行,在中世紀時代強大, 指出動物倫理學家詹姆斯Serpell書中動物與人類社會: 改變視角, 但它並沒有獲得普遍的尊敬,直到十七世紀後期, 對科學和自然歷史日益增長的熱情時間和動物的關注增加’ 福利. 自那以後, 我們依戀的狗已經顯著加劇. 我們人類從來沒有如此接近另一個物種. 我們花費了數百億美元的護理, 饋送, 和娛樂; 給他們的人的名字; 與他們交談,如果他們能理解我們; 相信我們知道他們都在告訴我們的回報.

這種情緒化往往糾纏狗在我們的需求和慾望. 現在是司空見慣, 雖然它會一直令人震驚乃至一代人以前, 聽人說不用道歉或尷尬,他們愛他們的狗超過他們最愛的人, 他們看到自己的狗作為家庭成員, 他們傾訴自己最親密的問題,並秘密向他們的狗, 誰更忠誠和理解比父母, 配偶, 情侶, 或朋友. 花了幾天在獸醫的辦公室作為我的研究的一部分,一本書, 我很驚訝地聽到一名女子又衝動後,, “看, 醫生, 我可以生活在沒有我的丈夫, 但你一定要救這狗!” 然而,獸醫告訴我,他們聽到這一切的時候.

而且不只是婦女. 行為科學研究顯示,女性喜歡狗,部分是因為他們似乎情緒支持而複雜, 能夠理解他們的業主深刻的,雖然無言的方式. 與此同時, 男人喜歡狗,因為他們是完美的好朋友, 高興去的地方,做的事情, 但未能守住或要求對話. 不管你喜歡與否, 我們的狗’ 成長環境反映了我們自己. 我們傾向於把我們的狗,我們收治的方式, 或者,我們希望我們的'路D已經. 無論哪種方式, 我們自己的過去深深影響我們對狗的態度,方式我們訓練,並與他們溝通.

這通常是一種無意識的過程. 少數業主帶來多大的自我意識,以自己的尖牙關係或反思自己的家庭時,他們在他們的狗尖叫來, 或者首席運營官它們,就像他們的理解. 每天晚上一所學校的護士,我知道抓住她的狗的耳朵,當她回家, 大呼小叫, “你愛我嗎? 我是你的甜蜜的媽媽?” 她想知道,為什麼狗試圖在散步流掉.

所以動機越來越狗成為重要, 如果你擔心它的福利,希望有一個良好的關係. 是你的答案為何,一個狗的問題,它更容易從一個依賴動物尋求同伴比一個人? 你想要的,因為從電視和電影潛意識信息的狗? 你更吸引到拯救生靈,而不是訓練和生活與他們?

難道我們的方式管教我們被紀律處分, 要求服從和完美的層次要求我們, 批評他們的聲音,我們聽到的話? 我們是否重演歷史的家族劇, 試圖撫平創傷? 我們可以誠實地說,我們還是別人在我們的家庭是願意承擔責任,情感的狗, 不僅是愛,但訓練和照顧它?

一位名叫蘇珊的女人告訴我她想一隻狗,因為她堅韌不拔的感覺不安全, 伊麗莎白貧困街區, 新澤西州. 於是,她得到了一個英語獒如此巨大,她的房東很快讓她給他帶走, 那麼德國牧羊犬名為雷霆. 狗確實有效地保障房, 充電前門時,陌生人來了. 但是,由於蘇珊, 誰的作品為新澤西運輸指揮, 承認她是一個可憐的教練很少有興趣與狗合作, 她已經鎖定雷霆在地下室當朋友或親戚參觀. 她是來家裡找了無數件切絲郵件; 狗可以理解看到信封通過門槽來作為威脅. 她還不得不更換劃傷的門和窗戶破碎.

現在, 雷霆重90磅和拉蘇珊遍布人行道時,她帶他出去. 鄰居和他們的孩子都嚇壞了他, 雖然他從來沒有真正咬傷或傷害任何人. 狗似乎並不激進這麼多的認真; 他這樣做,他被聘為做的工作, 他自己效力的受害者. 但蘇珊, 誰說她愛雷霆, 承認,她從來沒有真正想要一隻狗為了自身利益. 她大概應該已經採取了自衛課程或稱為安全報警,而不是公司. “這將是從長遠來看更便宜, 更容易。”

了解原因,我們希望有一個狗是中央的選擇是正確的, 適當培養他們, 居住與他們愉快地. 我們知道我們自己更, 更好的選擇,我們有可能使兩個品種.

當你想想看, 你可能知道很多人誰抱怨說,他們的狗太主動或過於久坐, 在追逐松鼠或過於分心來太感興趣調用時, 過於保護房子的左右沒有威脅,他們會幫助開展貴重物品. 雖然狗通常得到的怪, 經常不所有者做出了不幸或考慮不周的選擇. 所以, 狗是壓力,有什麼東西比它是什麼等下, 而人類擁有的不可開交. 隨著一點點思考和研究, 狗和兩國人民的生活可以有很多更容易和更令人滿意. 但是,這確實需要一個自己的心理和情緒有一定的了解, 在哪裡,我們都在我們自己的生活和我們的狗是如何適應一些思考. 吉姆, 獵人誰住靠近我在紐約州北部, 保持3比格犬在一個大籠子 360 去年天. 又冒出了幾個小時,早上在其他五天跟踪遊戲. 他們花了大量的時間等待, 但是當他們的時間來, 他們拍出來的狗窩,進入樹林. “他們是偉大的狗,” 吉姆說:, 誰甚至還沒有將它們命名為.

他喜歡讓他們? 我問他一次. “當他們做他們的工作怎麼辦,” 是他的回應. 我覺得本能遺憾的狗,當我開車經過, 尤其是當我認為我自己的狗’ 養尊處優的生活, 但吉姆的狗, 當他們大聲, 似乎不知道他們被剝奪. 不是所有的狗能住這樣. 但吉姆的小獵犬狗表現出的驚人的適應性. 他們在那裡打獵, 期. 吉姆有一個妻子和四個孩子的人,他的投入, 他很忙,他的建築公司; 他不需要狗是他的業餘愛好或自己的心腹. 每天一次, 他所領導出來與肉類和剩菜一桶的狗舍和扔內容到狗窩. 在聖誕節, 他補充說,餅乾桶. 他們得到所有他們的鏡頭, 和看醫生,如果他們生病. 在小獵犬從來沒有他的家裡面. 他說他們的自豪和深情, 但他們的工具, 像一個鑽或一個新的步槍, 不是小人物, 甚至沒有真正的現代意義上的寵物. 然而,狗似乎滿足健康. 吉姆知道正是他想要他們. 他們了解簡單的規則和, 因為狗沒有人時間的推移意識, 不知道他們是去狩獵之間有多長. 這可能不是這樣很多人會希望有狗, 但他明確對種狗,他想,為什麼似乎很好的工作人人參與.

再有就是安德烈, 一個藝術家誰住在佛蒙特州的一個50英畝的農場. 由於種種複雜的原因, 她放棄了男人的想法, 婚姻, 一個家庭; 代替, 她找到了一隻牧羊犬救援組. 她, 太, 明白到底為什麼她想要一隻狗, 和她形成了她的債券出現讓他們又喜.

“我一直沒有幸與關係, 至少目前還沒有,” 她說:. “但是耳語,我崇拜對方. 我有這麼多的樂趣與她, 她給了我這麼多的安慰和愛. 我希望她是個橋樑,另一個關係, 但如果她不是, 我會好起來的。”

這不是我說的和實際上我真的不能確定是否安德烈做了一個明智的或健康的選擇. 不過,她認為對她的動機, 如何狗將融入她的生活, 她做了一個深思熟慮的決定.

“因為我的孩子一直在乞求一” 是, 另一方面, 通常嫌疑人有理由獲得一個寵物. 這是一個常見的副歌, 但狗買聖誕驚喜苛刻的孩子往往有它的一個粗略的時間. 承諾得到做出遺忘; 在新人峰興趣, 那麼陰晴圓缺.

並不總是. 我的一位12歲的鄰居問的黃金獵犬,去年聖誕節和他的父母同意, 條件是傑里米為此負責. 也許他們有信心,他居然會因為他已經證明了他的承諾,倉鼠籠飼養他的魚和清理.

在任何情況下, 傑里米確實照顧克蘭西. 他走之前,他放學後, 他的飼料, 他刷, 帶他去培訓班每週六. 放學後的每一天, 傑里米·克蘭西和共同訓練. 狗已經學會了叫過來時,, 坐, 留, 躺下的命令. 農村人熟悉的4-H計劃懂得健康的它可以為孩子承擔責任,動物. 兒童人- 和狗瘋狂郊區的規則往往似乎是, 院子裡的小, 越大的狗知道它是多麼不尋常. 傑里米, 讓狗似乎像一個積極的事情; 他食言, 或者他的父母帶著堅持,他保持它的不尋常的步驟. 無論哪種方式, 我遇到幾個孩子和他一樣. 父母, 提防: 有人在一個家庭必須採取的狗主要責任, 如果孩子不, 爸爸媽媽已經介入.

家長往往會給孩子的事情,他們認為是對他們有好處手機, 計算機, 狗沒有關於如何將這些東西會被使用或處理後購買想那麼多.

那麼,為什麼你要一隻狗?

如果答案, 部分, 從複雜的情感源於歷史 (因為肯定是跟我的情況), 確保你理解和思考究竟有什麼你問一個寵物. 儘管我們anthropomorphizing狗習慣, 他們不明白我們正在思考,也不可能把握情感角色的細微之處,我們有時會要求他們填寫. 由我們的定義他們甚至不能表現和藹若不適當地選擇, 行使, 並培訓. 由於我們的期望通常是太高, 我們變得很容易失望或憤怒. 還有,我們正在創建的問題狗biters大量證據, 嚼, 巴克, 需要抗抑鬱藥的神經症. 出現這種情況一方面是因為如此多的人得到錯誤的狗在錯誤的時間錯誤的原因. 有一個道德的組成部分,以承擔狗. 雖然他們沒有能力更高層次的思維過程, 狗肯定有情緒. 他們經歷的痛苦和損失, 恐懼和情感. 這給了他們和其他動物的良知的人民之間的一些道德地位. 它可能無法使他們的孩子們的等效, 但它確實責成我們思考我們如何對待他們. 但每隻狗並不適合所有人. 我不接受日益增長, 政治驅動的概念,即每隻狗是同樣值得搶救, 所有的狗基本上都在他們的適應我們的緊張, 擠, 訴訟人文環境. 我不覺得這是真實的. 狗是兇猛的特質, 不同的瘋狂取決於品種, 遺傳學, 產仔經驗, 治療, 與環境. 有些親切和平靜, 飼養氣質, 還有一些是暴力, 培育和訓練,以狩獵或戰鬥. 我們很少有培訓能力或時間來改變所有這些行為. 錯誤的選擇狗可以證明一個噩夢您, 你的家人, 和你的社區; 正確的, 歡樂.

有些狗需要工作, 有些不; 有些人會從雷聲掩蓋,而其他人甚至不會注意到它; 一些討厭的人帽子和其他追逐自行車. 你不能總是知道這些古怪提前; 更有理由謹慎行事.


返回頁首 ↑

©版權所有 2017 日期我的寵物. MADE WITH 8celerate工作室

了解更多:
想約會你的夢中情人? 學習從螞蟻

多少次有這個發生在你身上? 你的朋友,你是站在一個酒吧,你看到...

Katz on Dogs : A Commonsense Guide to Training and Living with Dogs

It’s the question prospective dog owners should ask first, perhaps the most important in anyone’s life with a dog:

Why?

The most critical decisions about our lives with dogs are often made before we bring one home. Acquiring a dog in America is disturbingly
simple. You can trawl online, find a breeder, or take one of the puppies some kid is offering outside the supermarket (I wouldn’t advise it). You
might come across a stray while out walking or driving. Some people seek dogs for rock-hard practical reasons: security, hunting, therapy, search-and-rescue. But most of us, say psychologists and behaviorists, have more complicated emotional and psychological motives.

WHY DO I WANT A DOG?

The more trouble humans have connecting with one another, the more they turn to dogs (and other pets) to fill some of the gaps. We seem to need to love and be loved in ways that are uncomplicated, pure, and dependable.

Contemporary America is, in many ways, a fragmented, detached society. Our extended families have moved away; we often don’t know our neighbors; many of us hole up at night, staring at one kind of screen or another. Divorce is commonplace. Work has become unstable, uncertain for many, often unpleasant. Many people seem to find it easier to live and interact with dogs than with one another, and so the bonds between humans and dogs grow steadily stronger.

Yet this development in the relationship of these two species is one sided. Many dogs are well served by humans’ deepening attachment, but the dogs can’t make similar choices. It’s human need that has spawned the great canine love affair.

Humans have decided to bring dogs into the center of their lives. For all the fussing about animal rights, dogs have none. They don’t get to make consumer decisions. They’re dependent on us for everything they need to survive. They can’t talk back; they have no say about their environments or futures.

Although dogs have helped and worked with humans for thousands of years, it’s only in recent decades that they’ve come to be seen as something other than (perhaps more than) animals. Pet-keeping was popular among the wealthy and powerful in medieval times, notes animal ethicist James Serpell in the book Animals and Human Society: Changing Perspectives, but it didn’t acquire widespread respectability until the late seventeenth century, a time of growing enthusiasm for science and natural history and increased concern for animals’ welfare. Since then, our attachment to dogs has intensified significantly. We humans have never been closer to another species. We spend tens of billions of dollars on their care, feeding, and amusement; give them human names; talk to them as if they can understand us; believe we know what they are telling us in return.

This emotionalism often entangles dogs in our needs and wants. It is commonplace now, though it would have been shocking even a generation ago, to hear people say without apology or embarrassment that they love their dogs more than they love most people, that they see their dogs as members of their family, that they confide their most intimate problems and secrets to their dogs, who are more loyal and understanding than parents, spouses, lovers, or friends. Spending a few days in a vet’s office as part of my research for a book, I was amazed to hear one woman after another urge, “Look, Doctor, I can live without my husband, but you’ve got to save this dog!” Yet vets tell me they hear it all the time.

And not just from women. Behavioral research shows that women love dogs in part because they seem emotionally supportive yet complex, able to understand their owners in a profound though wordless way. Meanwhile, men love dogs because they are perfect pals, happy to go places and do things, but unable to hold or demand conversations. Like it or not, our dogs’ upbringings reflect our own. We tend to treat our dogs the way we were treated, or the way we wish we ‘d been. Either way, our own pasts profoundly shape our attitudes about dogs and the ways we train and communicate with them.

This is usually an unconscious process. Few owners bring much self-awareness to their canine relationships or reflect on their own families when they scream at their dogs to come, or coo at them as if they understood. One school nurse I know grabbed her dog by the ears every night when she came home, yelling, “Do you love me? Am I your sweet mommy?” She wondered why the dog tried to run off during walks.

So the motives for getting a dog become important, if you are worried about its welfare and want a good relationship. Is your answer to the why-a-dog question that it’s easier to seek companionship from a dependent animal than from a person? Do you want a dog because of subliminal messages from TV and movies? Are you more drawn to rescuing creatures than to training and living with them?

Do we discipline in ways we were disciplined, ask for the levels of obedience and perfection demanded of us, criticize them in the voices and words we heard? Are we reenacting old family dramas, trying to heal traumas? Can we honestly say that we or somebody else in our household is willing to take emotional responsibility for a dog, not only loving but training and caring for it?

A woman named Susan told me she wanted a dog because she felt unsafe in a gritty, impoverished neighborhood in Elizabeth, New Jersey. So she got an English mastiff so enormous that her landlord soon made her give him away, then a German shepherd named Thunder. The dog does effectively protect the house, charging the front door when strangers come by. But since Susan, who works as a New Jersey Transit conductor, concedes she is a poor trainer with little interest in working with the dog, she has to lock Thunder in the basement when friends or relatives visit. She ‘s come home to find countless pieces of shredded mail; the dog understandably sees envelopes coming through the door slot as a menace. She ‘s also had to replace scratched doors and broken windows.

By now, Thunder weighs ninety pounds and pulls Susan all over the sidewalk when she takes him out. The neighbors and their children are terrified of him, though he’s never actually bitten or harmed anyone. The dog doesn’t seem aggressive so much as conscientious; he is doing the job he was hired to do, a victim of his own effectiveness. But Susan, who says she loves Thunder, concedes that she never really wanted a dog for its own sake. She probably should have taken a self-defense course or called a security-alarm company instead. “It would be cheaper in the long run, and easier.”

Understanding the reasons we want a dog is central to choosing the right ones, training them properly, living with them happily. The more we understand about ourselves, the better choices we are likely to make for both species.

When you think about it, you probably know plenty of people who complain that their dogs are too active or too sedentary, too interested in chasing squirrels or too distracted to come when called, too protective of the house or so nonthreatening they’d help carry out the valuables. Though the dog usually gets the blame, as often as not the owner made an unfortunate or ill-considered choice. Consequently, the dog is under pressure to be something other than what it is, while the humans have their hands full. With a little thought and research, the lives of dogs and their people can be a lot easier and more satisfying. But that does require some understanding of one’s own psychology and emotions, some thought about where we are in our own lives and how our dogs fit in. Jim, a hunter who lives near me in upstate New York, keeps three beagles in a large kennel 360 days a year. They emerge for a few morning hours on the other five days to track game. They spend a lot of time waiting, but when their time comes, they shoot out of the kennel and into the woods. “They are great dogs,” says Jim, who hasn’t even named them.

Does he like having them? I asked him once. “When they do their jobs I do,” was his response. I feel reflexively sorry for the dogs when I drive by, especially when I consider my own dogs’ pampered lives, but Jim’s dogs, while they’re loud, don’t seem to know they are deprived. Not all dogs could live that way. But Jim’s beagles demonstrate the startling adaptability of dogs. They’re there to hunt, period. Jim has a wife and four children to whom he’s devoted, and he’s busy with his construction firm; he doesn’t need dogs to be his hobby or his confidants. Once a day, he heads out to the kennel with a bucket of meat and leftovers and tosses the contents into the kennel. At Christmas, he adds a bucket of biscuits. They get all their shots, and see a vet if they’re ailing. The beagles have never been inside his home. He speaks of them proudly and fondly, but they’re tools, like a drill or a new rifle, not little people, not even really pets in the contemporary sense. Yet the dogs seem content and healthy. Jim knows precisely why he wants them. They understand the simple rules and, since dogs lack human awareness of the passage of time, don’t know how long they go between hunts. It may not be the way many of us would wish to have dogs, but his clarity about the kinds of dogs he wants and why seems to work well for everyone involved.

Then there’s Andrea, an artist who lives on a fifty-acre farm in Vermont. For various complex reasons, she’s given up on the idea of men, marriage, a family; instead, she sought out a collie rescue group. She, too, understood exactly why she wanted a dog, and the bond she’s formed with hers appears to make them both happy.

“I have not been fortunate with relationships, at least not yet,” she says. “But Whisper and I adore each other. I have so much fun with her, and she gives me so much comfort and love. I hope she ‘s a bridge to another relationship, but if she isn’t, I’ll be okay.”

It isn’t for me to say and in truth I can’t really decide whether Andrea made a wise or healthy choice. But she thought about her motives, about how a dog would fit into her life, and she made a considered decision.

“Because my kid’s been begging for one” is, on the other hand, usually a suspect reason to acquire a pet. It’s a common refrain, but dogs bought as Christmas surprises for demanding children often have a rough time of it. Promises get made and forgotten; interest in the newcomer peaks, then wanes.

Not always. A twelve-year-old neighbor of mine asked for a golden retriever last year for Christmas and his parents agreed, on the condition that Jeremy take responsibility for it. Perhaps they had confidence that he actually would because he’d already proved his commitment by feeding his fish and cleaning out hamster cages.

In any event, Jeremy does take care of Clancy. He walks him before and after school, feeds him, brushes him, takes him to training classes every Saturday. Each day after school, Jeremy and Clancy train together. The dog has learned to come when called, to sit, stay, and lie down on command. People in rural areas familiar with 4-H programs know how healthy it can be for children to take responsibility for animals. People in child- and dog-crazed suburbs where the rule often seems to be, the smaller the yard, the bigger the dog know how unusual it is. For Jeremy, getting a dog does seem like a positive thing; he kept his word, or perhaps his parents took the unusual step of insisting that he keep it. Either way, I’ve encountered few kids like him. Parents, beware: somebody in a household has to take primary responsibility for a dog, and if the kids don’t, Mom or Dad has to step in.

Parents often give their kids things they think are good for them cell phones, computers, dogs without much thought about how these things will be used or treated after the purchase.

So why do you want a dog?

If the answer, in part, stems from a complex emotional history (as is certainly the case with me), make sure you understand and think through just what it is you are asking of a pet. Despite our habit of anthropomorphizing dogs, they don’t understand what we ‘re thinking and can’t possibly grasp the nuances of the emotional roles we sometimes ask them to fill. They can’t even behave amiably by our definitions if not properly chosen, exercised, and trained. Since our expectations are usually much too high, we become easily disappointed or angry. There’s substantial evidence that we’re creating problem dogs biters, chewers, barkers, neurotics in need of antidepressants. This happens partly because so many people get the wrong dogs at the wrong times for the wrong reasons. There’s a moral component to taking on a dog. Though they aren’t capable of higher-level thought processes, dogs certainly have emotions. They experience pain and loss, fear and affection. This has given them and other animals some moral standing among people of conscience. It may not make them the equivalent of children, but it does obligate us to think about how we treat them. But every dog isn’t for everyone. I don’t accept the growing, politically driven notion that every dog is equally deserving of rescue, that all dogs are essentially alike in their adaptability to our tense, crowded, litigious human environment. I don’t find that to be true. Dogs are ferociously idiosyncratic, varying wildly depending on breed, genetics, litter experience, treatment, and environment. Some are genial and calm, bred for temperament, and some are violent, bred and trained to hunt or fight. Few of us have the training skills or time to alter all of those behaviors. The wrong choice of dog can prove a nightmare for you, your family, and your community; the right one, a joy.

Some dogs need to work, some don’t; some will hide from thunder while others won’t even notice it; some hate people in hats and others chase bikes. You can’t always know these oddities in advance; all the more reason to proceed with caution.


Back to Top ↑

© Copyright 2017 Date My Pet. Made with by 8celerate Studio

Read more:
How to Date Someone From the Dog Park

Imagine this, you are throwing the frisbee with your furry friend at the local dog park and you notice your...

Close